Alt text

The 3rd Annual Symposium on Applications of Contextual Integrity will take place on
September 21-22, 2020 in Chicago at the University of Chicago.

The aim of the symposium is to foster interaction among diverse communities of research and practice using Contextual Integrity to reason about privacy, and to design, evaluate, craft regulation, and generate formal logics for privacy.

As the goal of the workshop is to foster discussion around works in progress, the workshop will not publish formal proceedings so as to not preclude the publication of subsequent versions of those works improved by workshop feedback. However, with authors’ permission, we will post accepted submissions on the website.

Submissions will be peer-reviewed by the workshop’s Program Committee and accepted based on the relevance and development of the chosen topic, as well as their potential to contribute to the workshop discussions and goals.

Submissions may include:

  • Empirical studies (qualitative, quantitative, experimental)
  • Legal, philosophical, ethical, and policy analysis
  • System design and/or implementation
  • Combinations of the above

Participation without submission:  If you are interested in attending the symposium without submission, please fill in this form. We will send a confirmation upon review.

With authors’ permission, accepted submissions will be posted on the website, but will not be considered archival publications.

We look forward to seeing you at the symposium!


  • Register an intent/abstract: June 15, 2020
  • Submissions Due: June 22, 2020
  • Notifications: July 10, 2020
  • Symposium dates: Sep 21-22, 2020


Please make submissions using our submission system.


Marshini Chetty (University of Chicago)
Helen Nissenbaum (Cornell Tech)
Yan Shvartzshnaider (New York University & CITP, Princeton)
Blase Ur (University of Chicago)

Program Committee

Noah Apthorpe (Princeton University)
Sebastian Benthall (New York University)
Louise Barkhuus (The IT University of Copenhagen)
Anupam Datta (CMU)
Serge Egelman (ICSI & UC Berkeley)
Seda Guerses (TU Delft)
Jake Goldenfein (Cornell Tech)
Yafit Lev-Aretz (Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College)
Darakhshan Mir (Bucknell University)
Kirsten Martin (George Washington University School of Business)
Priya Kumar (University of Maryland)
Mainack Mondal (IIT Kharagpur)
Xinru Page (Bentley University)
Katherine J. Strandburg (New York University School of Law)
Madelyn Sanfilippo (CITP, Princeton)
Luke Stark (Microsoft Research)
Andrew Selbst (Data & Society)
Eran Toch (Tel Aviv University)
Pamela Wisniewski (University of Central Florida)
Primal Wijesekera (University of California, Berkeley)
Yvonne Wang (East China University of Political Science and Law)


Twitter: @privacy_way